Britain’s first astronaut, Helen Sharman recognised in New Year’s Honours List


Britain’s first astronaut, Helen Sharman has been recognised in 2018’s New Year’s Honours List.

Sharman was appointed a Companion of the Order of St Michael and St George for her services to Science and Technology Outreach. Sharman became Britain’s first astronaut in 1991 during the Project Juno space programme. She also became the first woman to visit Mir space station.

Since then, Sharman, a member of the Association of Space Explorers, has carried out a huge number of outreach activities to inspire young people.

She has supported educational charities and is the patron of Spacelink Learning Foundation and the President of the Institute of Science and Technology.

Sharman, who was awarded an OBE for her pioneering work in 1993, works full-time at the Department of Chemistry, Imperial College London.

During Tim Peake’s Principa mission she supported the UK Space Agency’s education and outreach activities with public appearances, media appearances and events with schools.

The New Year’s Honours list recognises the achievements of a wide range of extraordinary people across the country.

Speaking about Sharman’s recognition, Science Minister Jo Johnson said, “The UK is a global leader in science and research because of the achievements of extraordinary people.”

“As the UK’s first astronaut, Helen Sharman is already an inspirational figure and has dedicated much of her life to inspiring the next generation through education and outreach.”

About the author

Alison is the Digital Content Editor for WeAreTheCity. She has a BA Honours degree in Journalism and History from the University of Portsmouth. She has previously worked in the marketing sector and in a copywriting role. Alison’s other passions and hobbies include writing, blogging and travelling.

Related Posts