Gillian Anderson and Kirsten Dunst amongst the women receiving a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame


Taraji P. Henson, Kirsten Dunst and Gillian Anderson
The Hollywood Chamber of Commerce has announced the latest recipients of a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

The biggest names from the world of music, film and TV are honoured on the list, with a total of thirteen women featured.

Those honoured with a star must donate $40,000 to the Hollywood Historic Trust for the installation and maitenance of the star.

The celebrities must schedule their own star ceremony for within two years of the selection date.

British actress Gillian Anderson has been awarded, as well as businessmen Sir Richard Branson and Simon Cowell.

Vin Di Bona, chairman of the selection committee, commented:

“The Committee looked carefully at each nominee and we feel that we have selected an eclectic group of talent that will appeal to the tastes of many fans around the world,”

“As a Walk of Famer myself, I know these honorees will remember the dedication of their stars with great memories and will be proud that they are part of Hollywood’s history now and forever.

“We look forward to their big day as the Walk of Fame Class of 2018 becomes cemented one by one on the most famous sidewalk in the world!”

Dunst text her mother, who was at the local supermarket, to deliver the news:

My mom's always at Vons

A post shared by Kirsten Dunst (@kirstendunst) on

The complete class of 2018 is below:

In the category of MOTION PICTURES:  Kirsten Dunst, Jennifer Lawrence, Zoe Saldana, Gina Lollobrigida, Minnie Mouse, Nick Nolte, F.Gary Gray, Jack Black, Jeff Goldblum and Mark Hamill.

In the category of TELEVISION: Gillian Anderson, Lynda Carter, Taraji P. Henson, Niecy Nash, Shonda Rhimes, Anthony Anderson, Simon Cowell, RuPaul Charles, Eric McCormack, Ryan Murphy, Mandy Patinkin and posthumously: Steve Irwin.

In the category of RECORDING:  Mary J. Blige, Petula Clark, Carrie Underwood, Ice T, Snoop Dogg, Harry Connick, Jr, ‘Weird Al’ Yankovic and Sir Richard Branson.

In the category of RADIO: Steve Jones

In the category of LIVE THEATRE/LIVE PERFORMANCE: Charles Aznavour, Lin-Manuel Miranda and posthumously: Bernie Mac

Related Posts