The National Diversity Awards announce 2019 shortlist

National Diversity Awards

A record breaking 28,000 people nominated this year alone and the results are finally in for the National Diversity Awards (NDA), with an astonishing 126 nominees being recognised for their various achievements nationwide.

Community organisations and role models from across the UK will head to the breathtaking Liverpool Anglican Cathedral on 20th September to witness the countries 2019 winners being crowned the best of British diversity.

Amongst those being honoured are a reformed gangster, a Junior Bake Off Star and a host of campaigners and activists, all of whom work tirelessly to combat injustice and discrimination in very different ways.

Designed to highlight the country’s most inspirational and selfless people, the NDA’s continue to gain endorsements from high profile figures such as Stephen Fry, Sir Lenny Henry CBE and Graham Norton.

Actress and comedian Sally Phillips will take centre stage on 20th September as the official host of this year’s ceremony. Reflecting on the forthcoming celebrations, Sally said, “I am delighted to be hosting the 2019 National Diversity Awards.”

“Acknowledging and celebrating the hard work and stand out achievements of role models and community groups throughout the UK is a genuine honour for me.”

“Having attended the Awards back in 2016, I experienced this fabulous ceremony first hand and I cannot wait to be back this year celebrating the dedication and commitment of some of the UK’s most luminous and exceptional people.”

Previous winners include actor Warwick Davis, football’s equality and inclusion organisation Kick It Out and freedom fighter Abbey Kiwanuka.

Paul Sesay, Founder and CEO of the National Diversity Awards added, “An overwhelming amount of nominations and votes were received this year, and I know our judging panel had an incredibly difficult task of whittling down the nominees to create an outstanding shortlist.”

“So many heartfelt testimonies really showcased how these people and organisations are having a profound impact on the lives of others, and I applaud them for their dedication to each specific cause.”

“Congratulations to all of our shortlisted nominees, it is a privilege to recognise your bravery, resilience and courage and I am honoured to share this with the nation.”

“I look forward to congratulating you in person in September”.

The full list of shortlisted nominees is as follows:

Positive Role Model Age: Aidan Jackson BCyA, Edleen John, Courtney Hughes BEM, Nikki Lilly Christou, Darren Williams, Amanda Knowles MBE, Amani Simpson, Emily White

Positive Role Model Disability: Terence McCorry, Roland Chesters, Ade Adebisi, Molly Watt, Joanne White, Jenni Pettican, Myles Sketchley, Elin Williams

Positive Role Model Gender: Tessa Naran, Kirsty Tate, Mark Williams, Taban Shoresh, Sarah Mullins, Ruth Oshikanlu MBE, Jossy Cambridge-Simmons, Dr Sabrina Cohen-Hatton

Positive Role Model LGBT: Patrick Ettenes, Zayna Ratty, Michael Newton, Kate Ward, Ellie Lowther, Andrew Dalton, Alan Quick, Marcus Morgan

Positive Role Model Race, Faith Religion: Naga Kandiah, Darryl Laycock, Natasha Koshti-Symons, Martin Gallagher, Ifraah Samatar, Dharmesh Mistry, Abed Hussain, Salma Haidrani 

Community Organisation Age: Rising Arts Agency, KIDS Yorkshire, The Hive Youth Zone, Kingsgen Foundation, Alliance Dance Unit, The TIME4ME Project, Paws for Kids, Naz and Matt Foundation

Community Organisation Disability: Deaf Hope, Personal Independence Payment Professionals, Dimobi Children’s Disability Trust, Autism Wessex, The Josephine and Jack Project, ADDvanced Solutions, Spadework, Centre for ADHD & Autism Support

Community Organisation Gender: The Female Lead, Andys Man Club, Love Her Wild, Southall Black Sisters, Inspire Women Oldham, Leeds Dads, A Way Out, Against All Odds Still Standing

Community Organisation LGBT: Hidayah, Angels of Freedom, CliniQ, OutREACH Cumbria, Colours Youth Network, Sparkle, Chester Pride, LGBT+ Northern Social Group

Community Organisation Race, Faith, Religion: The Christian Millionaire Book Club, Gypsy Roma Traveller Police Association, Esther Community Enterprise, Queens Park Community Orchard, Cycle Sisters, Musicians in Exile – The Glasgow Barons, The Black Child Agenda, Taraki

Community Organisation Multi Strand: Jigsaw Family Support, Community Rail Lancashire Ltd, Changing Lives in Harlow CIC, Accessible Arts & Media, L6 Community Association, The Scottish Centre for Personal Safety, Cedarcube, Arrive Alive Response

Entrepreneur of Excellence: Jenny McLaughlan, Gavin Neate, Codilia Gapare, Lorna Reeves, Christopher Kenna, Vicki Roskams, Atif Choudhury, Nicola James

Diverse Company: Emovis, South Yorkshire Police, Specsavers, Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks, Dixons Carphone plc, Morgan Sindall Construction & Infrastructure, TransPennine Express, The Crown Prosecution Service, Middlesex University London, Welsh Government, Nottinghamshire Fire and Rescue Service, Financial Services Compensation Scheme

Celebrity of the Year: Paul O’Grady, Stephen Fry, Talia Grant, Sir Lenny Henry CBE, Anne Hegerty, Gareth Thomas, Katie Piper, John Barnes, Ellie Simmonds OBE, Raheem Sterling

Lifetime Achiever: Cheryl Robson, Christie Elan-Cane, Dominic Davies, Rodney Hinds, Janet Williams, Thomas Kearney, Andrew Miller, Oyovwe Kighho

Winners will be announced at The National Diversity Awards 2019 on September 20th. Tickets are now on sale here.

Related Posts