2015 WISE awards shortlist revealed

women wise awards
Megan Stowe, WISE Awards judge from Intel Corporation (UK) Ltd and Caitlin Stuart, Apprentice nominee, Building Services Design Technician from Troup Bywaters & Anders


The shortlist for the annual WISE Awards has been announced. The awards aim to showcase the work of individuals and organisations who are leading the way for women in science, technology, engineering and maths (STEM).

A record number of entries were received for the 2015 awards. The winners will be revealed at a black tie ceremony on Thursday, November 12, at the five-star Grange Hotel St Paul’s in London.

The winners will be presented their awards by Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal in her role as Royal Patron of the WISE campaign.

WISE Director Helen Wollaston said: “I was blown away by the passion, energy, commitment and sheer dogged determination of the girls and women we met yesterday.

“They are shining examples of talent which is changing the face of the UK’s science, technology and engineering industries, to keep us at the forefront of global innovation and make the world a better place.”

The WISE Awards 2015 shortlist

Open Technology Award – sponsored by Bloomberg:

  • Anne-Gaelle Colom, Director, jQuery Foundation
  • Hera Hussain, Community & Partnerships Manager, OpenCorporates and Founder of CHAYN
  • Amanda Smith, Community Engagement Manager, The Open Data Institute

Inspiring Young People Award – sponsored by Atkins:

  • Kris Harrison, Head of Lean Engineering, Selex ES
  • Sheila Thomas, Scientist in Residence, Bowling Park Primary School
  • Sue Threader, Chief Executive, The Rochester Bridge Trust

Campaign Award – sponsored by Network Rail:

  • Babcock – Devonport Respect Initiative
  • SSE – Gender Diversity Campaign
  • Women’s Engineering Society – National Women in Engineering Day

Influence Award – sponsored by the Royal Academy of Engineering:

  • Sue Kershaw, Director for Rail Europe, CH2M
  • Miranda Kirschel, President, Women in Nuclear UK
  • Marily Nika, Program Manager (engineering), Google

Tech Start-up Award – sponsored by Goldman Sachs:

  • Kanika Bansal, CEO, Medicen Devise Limited
  • Clementine Chambon, Co-Founder/CTO, Oorja: Empowering Rural Communities
  • Charlotte Williams, Chief Scientific Officer, Econic Technologies

Health & Safety Award – sponsored by Amec Foster Wheeler:

  • Kate Cairns, Independent Sustainability Advisor, Cairns Consultancy
  • Helen James, Beyond Zero Advisor, BAM Nuttall
  • Nicola McCracken, H&S Training Manager, Lagan Construction Group

Girl Award – sponsored by Intel Corporation (UK) Ltd:

  • Stephany Baladas, Assistant Clinical Technologist Apprentice, King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • Sarah Horgan, student, Sir Charles Kao UTC
  • Toktan Tabibi, student, Stockley Academy

Apprentice Award – sponsored by Rolls-Royce plc:

  • Tiffany Connor, Production Technologist, Fujifilm
  • Hannah Mills, Apprentice VWCV Technician, Imperial Commercials
  • Caitlin Stuart, Building Services Design Technician Apprentice, Troup Bywaters & Anders

Hero Award – sponsored by Babcock:

  • Juliet Davenport, Founder and Managing Director, Good Energy
  • Laura Peach, Placements Programme Coordinator, Engineers Without Borders
  • Jennifer Walsh-O’Donovan, Clinical Scientist/Rehabilitation Bioengineer, NHS Lothian

Research Award – sponsored by Thales:

  • Amrita Ahluwalia, Professor of Vascular Pharmacology, Queen Mary University of London
  • Margaret MacLean, Professor of Pulmonary Pharmacology, University of Glasgow
  • Sharon Peacock, Director Designate, Bloomsbury Research Institute and Professor of Clinical Microbiology at the University of Cambridge

Employer Award – sponsored by Awe:

  • Amec Foster Wheeler
  • Bechtel
  • The Royal Air Force

Lifetime Achievement Award – sponsored by Winton Capital:

  • Jacqueline De Rojas, President, techUK
  • Dorothy Holford, Senior Fellow – Loads Data & Structural Capability Principal Engineer – Structural Integrity, Qinetiq
  • Elizabeth Watson, retired Head of Product Safety Assurance, Rolls-Royce plc

For the first time this year, shortlisted nominees were invited to attend an interview with the judges for their category.

One of the judges, Megan Stowe from sponsors Intel Corp, said: “The standard of entry this year was absolutely amazing. It will be so difficult to choose just one winner.”

Another judge, Simon Hosking from sponsors Babcock, said he’d heard some “inspirational stories” and had found the judging experience “humbling”.

Follow WISE on Twitter @thewisecampaign or use the hashtag #WISEAwards2015.


Related Posts