Winners of the Women of the Future Awards 2016

The achievements of several of Britain’s most inspirational young women were rewarded last night at the eleventh Women of the Future Awards.



Women of the Future Awards


Women of the Future awards

Held on November 17th at the London Hilton on Park Lane, founder Pinky Lilani CBE was joined by Cherie Blair CBE, QC, Baroness Shami Chakrabarti CBE, and the Rt Hon John Bercow MP, Speaker of the House of Commons.

The event was proudly sponsored by Aviva and plays an important role recognising and offering support to the inspirational young females of today. Each award is open to women aged 35 and under, representing a variety of categories including tech, media, business, culture and sport.

2016’s group of winners celebrates young women such as Danielle Brown, an archer who has won gold in two consecutive Paralympic Games and three World Championships, before setting up her own training company. Meanwhile, Maxine Mackintosh was awarded the Technology and Digital award for her work as Chair of HealthTech Women UK, which helps women become leaders in medical innovation.

Founder and Chair of Women of the Future, Pinky Lilani CBE DL said:

“We are delighted to celebrate the remarkable personal and professional achievements of the winners of this year’s Women of the Future Awards. The WOF network grows stronger every year as we recognise the young women who are together shaping Britain’s future through their shared passion, determination, and kindness. Congratulations to all the winners!”

Women of the Future

The full list of winners is:

Arts and Culture: Sheila Nortley, Screenwriter, Dreamscape Films

Business: Alex Newbould, Head of Pricing Strategy, Asda

Community Spirits: Natalie Campbell, Founder, A Very Good Company

Entrepreneurship: Brynne Herbert, CEO, MOVE Guides

MBA Star: Julia Paykin, MBA Candidate, London Business School

Media: Chayya Syal, Broadcast Journalist and Blogger, BBC Asian Network and Avid Scribbler

Professions: Fayola Yeboah, Head of Contracts & Legal, UK & Ireland, Manpower Group

Real Estate: Infrastructure and Construction: Bryony Day, Associate, Arcadis

Science: Dr Maria Bruna, Junior Research Fellow in Mathematics, University of Oxford

Sport: Danielle Brown MBE, Company Director, Danielle Brown

Technology and Digital: Maxine Mackintosh, Chair, HealthTech Women

Young Star (for high achievers aged 16-21): Nusrath Hassan, Alumna, Mulberry School for Girls

The Awards also recognise a mentor and company that have gone above and beyond to support future female leaders. This year’s winners were:

Mentor of the Year: Tamara Box, Managing Partner EME, Reed Smith
Corporate Award: London Stock Exchange Group

The awards are as vital as ever with women still holding only around 7% of the world’s leading political offices, whilst almost four in ten businesses in G7 countries have no women among their senior management teams.

Headline sponsor Aviva Group’s CEO, Mark Wilson, summed up:

“I want a world with no barriers. No glass ceiling. Nothing that stops women fulfilling their potential. Aviva is delighted to support Women of the Future because it’s an important step towards turning that vision into reality. But we still have a long way to go.”

Women of the Future awards


Related Posts